Truancy Warning Notice
NOTICE: LAWS GOVERNING COMPULSORY ATTENDANCE IN TEXAS SCHOOLS
Failure to comply with the laws governing compulsory attendance may result in legal action.
OFFICIAL NOTICE TO THE CHILD AND PERSON(S) STANDING IN PARENTAL RELATION TO THE CHILD:
Texas requires a child who is at least 6 years of age, or who is younger than 6 years of age and has previously been enrolled in first grade, and who has not yet reached his/her 19th birthday to attend school unless exempt by Sec. 25.086. Students enrolled in pre-kindergarten or kindergarten shall attend school. Education Code 25.085/Coppell ISD Policy FEA (Legal)
Except as provided by Texas Education Code 25.092, a student may not be given credit for a class unless the student is in attendance for at least 90 percent of the days class is offered. Education Code 25.092/Coppell ISD Policy FEA (Legal)
A parent/guardian commits an offense of thwarting compulsory attendance under Education Code Sec. 25.093, if after having been warned in writing, a child has unexcused voluntary absences on 10 or more days or part of days within a 6-month. An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.00 Education Code 25.093
A student who has been absent without excuse on three days or parts of days will be issued a warning notice to inform the parents that the student is subject to truancy prevention measures in addition to other statutory requirements in existence. Referral to court for truant conduct may occur if a student fails to attend school without excuse on 10 or more days or parts of days within a six-month period.
A parent/guardian of a school age child has the responsibility to require that their child attend school regularly. When sickness or higher obligation necessitates an absence, a note signed by the parent/guardian explaining the reason for the absence is required the day the student returns to school. If a student fails to submit a note, the absence will be considered unexcused and the student will be allowed two (2) days to submit a written note excusing the absence.
A child not exempt from compulsory attendance laws may be excused for temporary absence, resulting from any unusual cause acceptable to the Superintendent or the Principal of the school in which the student is enrolled. The temporary absence may be the result of, but not limited to: 1) personal sickness, 2) family emergency, 3) religious holy day, 4) documented juvenile court proceeding; 5) approved extracurricular activity, or 6) approved college visitation.
When a student’s absence for personal illness exceeds five (5) cumulative days, the principal may require a statement from a physician or health clinic verifying the illness or other condition requiring the student’s extended absence from school (the school nurse is available to verify an illness the day of the absence). The attendance committee may, if the student has established a questionable pattern of absences, also require a physician’s or clinic’s statement of illness after a single day’s absence as a condition of classifying the absence as one for which there are extenuating circumstances. Coppell ISD Policy (Local)
When a child is absent from class without permission or misses one or more classes or part of classes without prior parental authorization, he/she is subject to disciplinary action. Students are truant if: 1) they leave class or campus without permission from both a parent and a school official; 2) they are in an area without teacher or administrator approval; 3) they leave school during the day without first providing the office with a note from their parents giving permission for them to leave; 4) they go home sick without going through the nurse; 5) they call parents and leave without checking through the office; 6) they don’t sign out in the office; 7) they leave campus for lunch.