• May 20, 2019 Meeting
    Board Briefs Heading

    Coppell ISD Board Briefs are highlights of select items from the CISD Board of Trustees meetings.  Click here for a complete list of agenda items, presentations, meeting minutes and a video of the meeting.

    Board Action and Consent Items Highlights 


    Newly Elected Board Members

    Newly elected trustees Leigh Walker, Manish Sethi and Anthony Hill were presented Certificates of Election and took the Oath of Office. They will each serve a three year term on the CISD Board of Trustees.

    District Highlights & Awards 

    Several recent CISD achievements were highlighted at the meeting, including:

    • Guru Vandana at CMS West and Indian American Festival in Cypress Waters;

    Guru Vandana

    • Incubator Final Pitch Night; and

    INCubator Final Pitch

    • Lakeside Elementary earns TEPSA Student Leadership Award.


    During the Awards portion of the meeting, Trustees recognized:

    • Debate wins State Championship;
    • State Visual Arts Scholastic Event (VASE) Competition;
    • UIL State Track and Field 800 Meter Event; and
    • Top 10 Graduating Seniors - Coppell High School/New Tech High @ Coppell

    Superintendent Discussion and Report Items 

    District Leadership Development Update

    Brooke Sims, Coordinator of Professional Learning, shared an update on the district's development of leadership programs.

    2019-2020 Budget Update

    Chief Financial Officer Diana Sircar gave an update on the 2019-2020 budget process and timeline, the preliminary budget and the Legislative session.

    Board of Trustees Discussion and Report Items

    Board of Trustees President Tracy Fisher gave a Legislative Report, Vice President David Caviness shared an update on the  Bond Oversight Committee, Trustee Thom Hulme gave an update on the District Education Improvement Council (DEIC) and Trustee Anthony Hill shared an update on the TASB Risk Management Fund Board Quarterly Meeting, TASB Members' Conference in Austin and the TEA Board of Trustees Advisory Council.

    2018 - 2019 Board of Trustees

      Fisher     Caviness     Walker     Sethi     Hill     Hulme     Bentley   

                  Tracy Fisher   David Caviness   Leigh Walker    Manish Sethi     Anthony Hill     Thom Hulme   Nichole Bentley