• June 24, 2019 Meeting
    Board Briefs Heading

    Coppell ISD Board Briefs are highlights of select items from the CISD Board of Trustees meetings.  Click here for a complete list of agenda items, presentations, meeting minutes and a video of the meeting.

    Board Action and Consent Items Highlights 


    District Highlights & Awards 

    Several recent CISD achievements were highlighted at the meeting, including:

    • Austin Elementary and New Tech High @ Coppell designated as 2019 Schools Transforming Learning (SLT) Campuses


    • Wilson Elementary named Great Expectations School; and


    • Article by Dr. Linda Cook and Malachi Ewbank published by the Journal of Higher Education Theory and Practice. 

    During the Awards portion of the meeting, Trustees recognized:

    • CMS West Student, Rohan Raja, competed at Scripps National Spelling Bee;


    • 30 Year Service Award - Janell Thach, First Grade Teacher (Austin Elementary);


    • 30 Year Service Award - Diane de Waal, Social Studies Teacher (Coppell High School);

    de Waal

    • 35 Year Service Award - Kim Pearce, English AP Coordinator (Coppell High School); and


    • Leigh Walker completes Leadership TASB Program and earns Master Trustee Designation

    Leigh Walker

    • The Board exercised Board privilege and recognized Kay Ryon, assistant to the Superintendent, who is retiring from CISD at the end of the month after 29 years of service to the district.


    Superintendent Discussion and Report Items 

    School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Update

    Gretchen Crichton, SHAC parent co-chair, shared the Annual Report on SHAC.

    Bond Project Update

    Associate Superintendent Sid Grant updated on the Bond Project.

    2019-2020 Budget Update

    Chief Financial Officer Diana Sircar gave an update on the 2019-2020 budget process.

    Board of Trustees Discussion and Report Items

    Trustee Tracy Fisher gave a Legislative Report, Trustee Anthony Hill shared an update on the TASB Summer Leadership Institute (SLI), Digital Learning Conference, and NTAASB Planning Meeting and Trustee Nichole Bentley updated on Safety and Security Committee Meeting.

    2018 - 2019 Board of Trustees

      Fisher     Caviness     Walker     Sethi     Hill     Hulme     Bentley   

                  Tracy Fisher   David Caviness   Leigh Walker    Manish Sethi     Anthony Hill     Thom Hulme   Nichole Bentley