English As A Second Language

  • State Assessments for English Language Learners

    TELPAS (Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System)

    In response to federal testing requirements of the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) of 2001, the Texas Education Agency developed the TELPAS. This system assesses four areas for English language proficiency: 
    • Reading (grades 2-12)
    • Listening (grades K-12)
    • Speaking (grades K-12)
    • Writing (grades K-12)

    Each assessed area is designed to address the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students make in learning the English language.

    For more information on TELPAS testing, please visit the Texas Education Agency at this link.