• District Teachers of the Year Named

    Malachi Ewbank, 5th grade teacher at Cottonwood Creek Elementary and Diane de Waal, 8th grade U.S. History teacher at Coppell Middle School West were named this year’s District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year for Coppell ISD. The judging process for all fourteen campus nominees includes a classroom observation, panel interview, and an essay. Superintendent Dr. Jeff Turner made the announcement during the CISD Education Foundation’s Student/Teacher Academic Recognition Banquet stating to a crowd of nearly 400, “We are fortunate in our community to have some of the most talented educators anywhere and this group represents the best of the best. I am humbled by the work they do and by their dedication and commitment to our students.”

    Mr. Ewbank has 9 years of teaching experience and believe a big part of his job is teaching students to love learning. Malachi’s Principal Dr. Andra Penny described him as an amazing teacher noting, “He is truly one of a kind and has made a lasting impression on his students, our staff, and the whole Cottonwood Creek community.”

    Mrs. de Waal has spent twenty nine years teaching her students that, “…history isn’t just about old dead guys.” She tells them, “It’s about you and your story.” According to Coppell Middle School West Principal Vern Edin, Diane represents the very best in public education adding, “Diane de Waal is that enthusiastic teacher full of excitement and energy. She is a teacher we all wish we could have for our own children.”

    This marks the fifth year for the Teacher of the Year award program in Coppell ISD. The two district award recipients are now eligible to be considered for a progression of awards beginning with at the regional level. The successful regional nominee will then advance to the state and national levels, respectively.

    As the nation’s premier educator recognition program, the national award recipient will receive a one-year teaching sabbatical to travel the country as an ambassador for public education. They are also eligible for numerous endorsement opportunities and cash awards.