• CISD Students Achieve Finalist Designation

    14 Coppell High School students and two New Tech High @ Coppell students, who were named semifinalists in the fall, have learned they are now finalists in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program. They were chosen out of a pool of more than 1.5 million students across the country based on their scores from the 2009 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. These students are among the highest scoring in the nation.

    The National Merit Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. An estimated 15,000 finalists – less than 1 percent of high school seniors nationwide – were announced in February by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

    The CHS finalists:

    Mitu Bhattatiry

    Audrey Eichenberger

    Srishti Goel

    Evan Hawman

    Michael Hays

    Divya Kumar

    Kim Le

    Mackenzie Orr

    Meera Patel

    Dmitri Potemkin

    Angela Song

    Krish Suresh

    Jenny Wang

    Adam Warner

    And the NTH@C finalists:

    Shehryar Siddiqui

    Lucas Williamson

    These students will compete for about 8,400 scholarships totaling over $36 million from the National Merit Corporation, corporate sponsors and college/university sponsors. Merit Scholarship winners will be announced next spring. For more information about this program, visit http://www.nationalmerit.org/.