• School Board Appreciation Month

    Coppell Independent School District is joining other districts across the state to gratefully acknowledge the commitment of our school trustees to the communities and children they serve. This year's theme, "Helping Our Kids Shine," calls special attention to the supportive role of school boards across the state.

     "Texans benefit every day from the dedicated energies and countless hours devoted by a group of more than 7,000 men and women across the state. These public servants are elected to serve by local citizens and receive no compensation for their tireless efforts and comprise the local school boards of Texas," said CISD Superintendent Dr. Jeff Turner.

    "These people unselfishly contribute their time and talents toward the advancement of public education," Dr. Turner said. "They represent a continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision making in education. Even though we are making a special effort during January to show appreciation to our school board members, we recognize that their contributions reflect a year-round effort and dedication to our children," according to Dr. Turner.

    "We proudly salute these education advocates as they provide leadership for student achievement, academic programs, local policy-making, and district funding. Their service ensures that decisions about local public schools are made by those most familiar with the needs of the community's children and families," said Dr. Turner. These individuals deserve recognition and thanks for their dedication to the continued success of our students and schools and the campuses will be recognizing them in a variety of ways" he said.

    The men and women and their length of service on the board (as of May 2012) include President Anthony Hill/five years, Vice President David Apple/seven years, Secretary Susie Kemp/eight years, Thom Hulme/four years, Bennett Ratliff/nine years, Amy Dungan/one year, and Cindy Warner/twelve years.