• Dr. Jeff Turner Named Region X Superintendent of the Year

    Superintendents from public school districts representing 20 education services centers (ESCs) across the state have been nominated for the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB). The Region X - ESC recently announced that Dr. Jeff Turner will represent the 80 school districts in that region as this year's SOTY nominee.

    TASB member and CISD Board President Cindy Warner said, “We are honored to work alongside Dr. Turner and believe this recognition is well-deserved. Coppell ISD is very fortunate to have such an innovative and highly respected leader at the helm of this district. Jeff is a visionary and a skilled collaborator whose passion for educational excellence and his genuine commitment to serving all students well has earned him the respect of not only the Coppell community, but of Board members and colleagues throughout the state.”

    In existence since 1984, the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership. According to TASB, candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. Superintendents from any of Texas' 1,035 local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

    The state selection committee will interview the 20 regional winners in August and select five state finalists. Those finalists will then interview on Friday, September 24 in Houston during the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA)/TASB convention. The state Superintendent of the Year will be announced on Sunday, September 26 during the Third General Session of the convention, and will receive a professional development award from Balfour.