• District Teachers of The Year Named

    Susan Hall, 3rd grade teacher at Mockingbird Elementary and Charles Perryman, World Studies facilitator at New Tech High @ Coppell were announced as the district's Teacher of the Year finalists earlier this week. The judging process for all fourteen campus nominees includes a classroom observation, panel interview, and written essay. Superintendent Dr. Jeff Turner made the announcement during the CISD Education Foundation's Student/Teacher Academic Recognition Banquet stating to a crowd of nearly 400, "We are fortunate in our community to have some of the most talented educators anywhere and this group truly represents the best of the best. I am amazed at the selfless work they do and by their genuine dedication and commitment to all students."

    Mrs. Hall has 12 years of teaching experience and believes her role as a teacher is to know, love, and encourage every child. Susan's Principal, Pam Mitchell, described her as, "…collaborative, nurturing, and perpetually positive! Susan shares what she researches with the entire campus and district colleagues to lighten the load for all."

    Mr. Perryman, a product of Coppell schools, began teaching at New Tech High three years ago and stated, "Teaching is easy. All you must do is find the knowledge you don't understand, creativity you can't fake, and passion you're not sure exists so you can pass the lessons of civilization along to future generations." According to NTH@C Director, Deana Harrell, "Mr. Perryman embodies the ideals of New Tech High @ Coppell. First and foremost, he is a life-long learner. His passion for his career choice is evident from the moment you see him in action. He creates, inspires, and encourages learners to make a difference every day - far beyond these four walls – and they do!"

    This marks the 9th year for the Teacher of the Year award program in Coppell ISD. The two district award recipients are now eligible to be considered for a progression of awards beginning at the regional level. The successful regional nominee will then have the opportunity to advance to the state and national levels, respectively.

    As the nation's premier educator recognition program, the National Teacher of the Year award recipient will receive a one-year teaching sabbatical to travel the country as an ambassador for public education. They will also be eligible for numerous endorsement opportunities and cash awards during that year.