• National Merit Commended Students Named

    Coppell High School Principal Brad Hunt and New Tech High @ Coppell Director Tabitha Branum recently announced their Commended Students in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program. Those students will receive a Letter of Commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) which conducts the program.

    Approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2011 competition for National Merit Scholarships, it should be noted that Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2011 competition by taking the 2009 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

    "This is an outstanding accomplishment for these high-achieving young men and women," said Superintendent Jeff Turner. "They have demonstrated, through participation in this highly competitive program, a level of excellence enjoyed by some of the most academically talented students in the nation. I believe such recognition will enhance their future educational opportunities and inspire them to continue their pursuit of academic success."

    Representing Coppell High School:

    • Sarah Cage
    • James Cao
    • John De La Chapelle
    • Aaron Fisher
    • Maxwell Frazier
    • Zach Getson
    • Danielle Herubin
    • Sarah Hillier
    • Judy Hong
    • Benjamin Huang
    • Julia Kim
    • Faith Kindervag
    • Priyanka Krishnamurthy
    • Caroline Lowry 
    • Shivam Naik
    • Rebecca Neumann
    • Elizabeth Rea
    • Michael Rieger
    • Dinesh Seemakurty
    • Mitchel Suson
    • Kyle Temprine
    • Justin Wu

    Representing New Tech High @ Coppell:

    • Jeganathpraba (Prabu) Devadas
    • Juliana Brassfield
    • Jacob Lewis
    • Laura Lisbona
    • Kristin Miller
    • Nicholas Racz