• 17 CISD Students are Named Semifinalists

    15 Coppell High School students and two New Tech High @ Coppell students were named semifinalists in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program. They were chosen out of a pool of more than 1.5 million students across the country based on their scores from the 2009 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. These students are among the highest scoring in the nation.

    The National Merit Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. An estimated 16,000 semifinalists – less than 1 percent of high school seniors nationwide – were announced on September 15, 2010 by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

    CHS semifinalists:

        • Ragu Achukola
        • Mitu Bhattatiry
        • Audrey Eichenberger
        • Srishti Goel
        • Evan Hawman
        • Michael Hays
        • Divya Kumar
        • Kim Le
        • Mackenzie Orr
        • Meera Patel
        • Dmitri Potemkin
        • Angela Song
        • Krish Suresh
        • Jenny Wang
        • Adam Warner
    NTH@C semifinalists:
        • Shehryar Siddiqui
        • Lucas Williamson

    Students selected as finalists will compete for about 8,400 scholarships totaling over $36 million from the National Merit Corporation, corporate sponsors and college/university sponsors. Merit Scholarship winners will be announced next spring. For more information about this program, visit http://www.nationalmerit.org/.