• CISD Leadership in the Lone Star State

    A strong school district is often defined by its leadership, and the same may be said of the organizations that serve Texas educators. With Dr. Jeff Turner at the helm of the Coppell ISD, many outstanding campus and district staff members have answered the call to share their expertise and guidance at the state level by serving in leadership roles that support the organization's mission and ultimately the children attending public schools throughout the state.

    Dr. Turner believes that for Coppell ISD to continue to be on the forefront of educational trends and transformation, it must have representation at the tables where those ideas and conversations originate. He believes collaboration and service help to strengthen organizations and comprise the constitutional makeup of all effective leaders.

    Dr. Jeff Turner, Superintendent – President, TASA (Texas Association of School Administrators) 2012-13

    Kelly Penny, Chief Financial Officer – TASBO Board of Directors (Texas Association of School Business

    Officials) 2010-13

    Tamerah Ringo, Director of Communications & Public Relations –Parliamentarian, TSPRA Executive

    Board (Texas School Public Relations Association) 2012-14

    Michelle King, Director of Professional Learning – President-Elect, Leaning Forward Texas 2012-13 and

    Government Relations Rep. TASM Board of Directors (Texas Association for Supervisors of

    Mathematics) 2005-08

    John Crawford, CISD Director of Athletics – Region Director, THSADA Board of Directors (Texas High

    School Athletic Directors Association) 2010-13

    Dr. Andra Penny, Principal/Cottonwood Creek Elementary – President, TEPSA Board (Texas Elementary

    Principals and Supervisors Association) 2009-10

    Bryan McLain, Principal/Denton Creek Elementary – President District 10, TEPSA Board 2011-13

    Pam Mitchell, Principal/Mockingbird Elementary – Treasurer District 10, TEPSA Board 2012

    Vern Edin, Principal/Coppell Middle School West – Middle School Mentor Association Principal, TEA

    (Texas Education Agency) 2002-03

    Joe McBride, Head Football Coach/Coppell High School - Board of Directors THSCA (Texas High School

    Coaches Association) 2011-2012

    Chip Lowery, Head Wrestling Coach & P.E. Teacher/Coppell High School – Board of Directors TWCA

    (Texas Wrestling Coaches Association) Club Liaison for USA Wrestling 2002-12

    Terry Galbraith, Golf Sponsor/Coppell High School – Vice President TAGC (Texas

    Association of Golf Coaches) 2008-12

    Tammy Gilstrap, P.E. Teacher/Cottonwood Creek Elementary – Vice President Physical Education

    Division, TAHPERD (Texas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation & Dance)

    Cynthia Alaniz, 4th Grade Teacher/Denton Creek Elementary – Recording Secretary, TCTELA Board (Texas Council of Teachers of English Language Arts) 2012-13

     While this list includes CISD staff members who have held/hold leadership positions on the state board of their respective organizations during the last ten years, there are many others who have exhibited their leadership abilities by serving on numerous district, regional, and state committees.