• 2010 National Merit Semifinalists Announced

    Posted by CISD on 9/16/2009 10:00:00 AM

    20 Coppell High School students have been named semifinalists in the 2010 National Merit Scholarship Program, the most recognized in CISD history. They were chosen based on their scores from the 2008 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and are among the students scoring the highest in the state.

    The National Merit Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. An estimated 16,000 semifinalists – less than 1 percent of high school seniors nationwide – were announced September 16, 2009 by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. The CHS semifinalists include:

    Annie Abraham

    Suwetha Amsavelu

    Paul Blazek

    Ashwin Chandra

    Peter Chang

    Daphne Chen

    Elisa Farrell

    Patrick Foss

    Bryce Heatherly

    Lucy Huo

    Christopher Nguyen

    Katherine Quill

    Bharadwaj Raghavan

    Nathan Reck

    Eric Ressler

    Henry Trahan

    Jeffrey Xue

    Vicki Yang

    Quinn Zhang

    Zachary Zoda

    Those students selected as finalists will compete for a total of more than $36 million in scholarships from the National Merit Corporation, corporate sponsors and college/university sponsors. Merit Scholarship winners will be announced next spring. For more information about this program, visit http://www.nationalmerit.org/.

    Comments (0)


By Month