Congratulations 2022 CISD Spelling Bee Champions

Spelling BeeAfter 16 rounds and correctly spelling “Halifax,” Rohit Raja, a fifth grader from Richard J. Lee Elementary, is the 2022 CISD Spelling Bee Champion and Arjun Dwarakanath, a fifth grader from Denton Creek Elementary, is the First Runner Up. This is the second consecutive year and the second time in CISD history that both Spelling Bee winners are from the elementary school level.

The CISD Spelling Bee was held Jan. 6 at Coppell Middle School West. Raja and Dwarakanath had the top two scores on the program and will represent CISD by competing in the Dallas County Spelling Bee in February. 

The CISD elementary and middle school campus Spelling Bee Winners who competed Jan. 6 were:

  • Tyler Kim from Austin Elementary 
  • Sarina Adhikari from Canyon Ranch Elementary 
  • Shrihan Vankamamidi from Cottonwood Creek Elementary 
  • Arjun Dwarakanath from Denton Creek Elementary 
  • Keya Ramalingam from Lakeside Elementary 
  • Rohit Raja from Richard J. Lee Elementary 
  • Shrriya Bedse from Mockingbird Elementary
  • Anya Hegde from Pinkerton Elementary 
  • Vir Dubey from Town Center Elementary 
  • Harshinie Akilan from Valley Ranch Elementary 
  • Aman Pal from Wilson Elementary
  • Jayanth Yamunan, Arjun Sharma and Anika Bandaru from CMS EAST
  • Ryan Kraatz, Shaunak Jadhav and Griffin Helwig from CMS NORTH
  • Sahaj Jaiswal Shrihan Dasari and Vinayak Vipinachandran from CMS WEST

Judges for the event were Wilson Elementary Principal Cooper Hilton, Austin Elementary Principal Kristan Perryman and CMS West Principal Dr. Sarah Thornton. CISD Director of Mathematics Mary Kemper served as the Pronouncer, CISD Director of Social Studies and Languages other than English Maria McCoy served as the Spelling Bee District Representative and Administrative Assistant Jill Hickman organized the event, under the leadership of Director of Literacy and Early Childhood Dr. Anita de la Isla.